Home Articles


2009 Div II CLub of the Year C4

Colorado Springs, Colo. (December 18, 2009) -- USA Cycling has announced the recipients of its annual Club of the Year awards. Nine USA Cycling-sanctioned clubs received recognition for outstanding programs throughout the 2009 season and will receive complimentary registration fees for the 2010 racing season.

Clubs were judged on several key areas including race promotion, membership composition, instructional clinics and seminars, club activities, charitable contributions, and racing performance. Of the more than 2,200 USA Cycling member clubs, 70 applied for the awards program.

Three primary clubs were recognized based on membership size (Division I = 76+ members, Division II = 30-75 members and Division III = 1-29 members), while six more were awarded Club of the Year designations in specific categories – Collegiate, Mountain Bike, Track, Best New Club, Women’s, and Junior/High School.

Cross Creek Cycling Club (Fayetteville, NC) took the top honor in Division II for the second year in a row. In 2009, the club hosted its first cyclo-cross race – the Dragon Cross CX, as part of the NCCX Winter Series. Cross Creek also promoted or co-promoted the Tour de Moore Road Race, the Dragon’s Challenge Individual Time Trial, and the North Carolina State Criterium Championship.  The group held adults and juniors skills clinics, a cyclo-cross training series, and a K-5th grade Bicycle Rodeo. It also took part in several initiatives that benefitted the community in 2009, including the Wounded Warrior Project, Crankin for Crohn's Ride, Cumblernad County Special Olympics, Moses Mathis - the Bicycle Man, Ride without Limits, 3rd annual Bike Ride for Sam, and the Lance Armstrong Foundation. For more information about this club, visit

Congratulations 2009 USA Cycling Club of the Year recipients!
Division I Club of the Year: Century Road Club Association (New York, NY)
Division II Club of the Year: Cross Creek Cycling (Fayetteville, NC)
Division III Club of the Year: CycleLife powered by Specialized (Baltimore, Md.)
Mountain Bike Club of the Year: Active Knowledge (Albuquerque, NM)
Collegiate Club of the Year: Marian University (Indianapolis, Ind.)
Track Club of the Year: Hammer Racing Team - Littleton, Colo. 
Best New Club of the Year: Thumbprint Racing (Seattle, Wash.)
Women’s Club of the Year: Sound Velo Cycling Club (Seattle, Wash.)       
Junior/High School Club of the Year: Red Zone Cycling - Louisville, Ky.

Previous Article Time to renew your license
Next Article Condolences
1324 Rate this article:
No rating

Please login or register to post comments.


Updates and Info

If you have any suggestions, please let Robert know. Try to be resonably specific if you can as it helps in the long run. Remember to update your links for the CCA Offcial website to We have setup web forwarding from our old site address.

We are constantly looking to make improvements to this website, from how we manage information dislay to maintenance. Now that the CCA Annual meeting is complete and the base calendar set, we are building the events calendar with many new features. We have all events from that list added. Some of the event info is basic until either the promoter provides it to me (Robert) or I pull it from the USA Cycling website once you start the permit process there. We do ask that you information always include the name and date(s) of your event. For the maps integration, we ask that you include an accurate address to the staging site or parking area for your event(s). Also new, is the ability for us to add some details to your event listing. This should be in plain text format and be reasonable length (i.e. not all the info from your flyer) but maybe some good info that is not on your flyer.


Copyright 2018 by Carolinas Cycling Association - Hosted & Managed by TekZones Terms Of Use Privacy Statement
Back To Top